What's on the exam?  Is the state exam included in the online course?

The exam is about laws and regulations (Jurisprudence), x-rays (Radiography), and infection control.  Our course helps prepare you for the exam, and yes, the state exam is included in our online course.  You can review the videos at your own pace and take notes!  

Will I receive my certificate in the mail - or - by email?

You will receive your certificate electronically. We do not mail physical certificates. When you complete the course successfully within 45 days, you will see your certificate and receive an email.  You can print or save this on your computer or electronic device.  

I took this course before.  How do I take it again?

You will need to contact technical support first and ask them to re-open the course to you again. Call 800-701-5161 | M-F, 8 - 6 

How much does a dental assistant earn hourly?

It depends on where you live in Texas!  You can see hourly wage estimates for your area by visiting the Texas Wages website.

I passed my online course with you and got my CPR course done.  What's next?

As step 4 describes, you'll be working with the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners to get your paperwork in.  Learn more about the requirements here.

I have my Registered Dental Assistant certificate.  What more can I do?

Continue to learn!  Ask TSBDE about continuing education courses to help you later renew your certificate.
Get an additional certificate! With a Nitrous Oxide Monitoring certificate, you can help check patients' sedation levels.
Consider going to college!  Continue your career in dentistry.  Learn about financial aid options.

I'm going to move out of Texas.  Can I use my certificate in another state?

Great question!  This certificate is a cost-effective way to start your career in Texas, but if you are planning to move to another state, you should do some research first. Before you register for any courses with us, you should first contact the state dental board in that state to see what certificates and programs they recognize.   

I need to RENEW my certificate.  How do I do that?

First, you will want to review the CE requirements here!  You can take our online course, which is approved by the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners.  Or you can take other CE courses, if they are TSBDE approved.  When you are ready, visit the TSBDE webpage to get your renewal application!

My RDA registration expired over 1 year ago.  Can I still renew - OR - do I need to start a new application?

If your RDA registration expired over 1 year ago, unfortunately the Texas State Board explains in Rule D3 that you cannot renew.  So, it is time to follow the steps again and start a new RDA application!  

How can I find a job in Texas?

There are free resources to help you!  Visit www.workintexas.com to be matched with jobs or contact your local Texas Workforce Commission office for personal assistance.

My RDA registration expired over 1 year ago.  Can I still renew - OR - do I need to start a new application?

If your RDA registration expired over 1 year ago, unfortunately the Texas State Board explains in Rule D3 that you cannot renew.  So, it is time to follow the steps again and start a new RDA application!  

Do I need to be employed by a dentist before I can take the course? 

You can take the online course before OR after you get a job with a dentist.  It's your choice.